Annual progress: Work of NJR Committees

2016/17 NJR Steering Committee

This section provides brief outlines of the work undertaken by the NJR Steering Committee (NJRSC) and its sub-committees during 2016/17. Although brief, these sections intend to demonstrate the ever-increasing scope of the registry’s work and the commitment required by its members to meet the needs of its orthopaedic stakeholders.

Structure, governance and operating model

The NJR Steering Committee is a NHS England Committee of Experts and is responsible for the work and progress of the NJR.

Membership 2016/17

During this reporting period, there have been some changes to the membership of the NJRSC. Professor Andrew Price stepped down from his role as a surgeon member of the committee as he formally became part of the NJR’s statistical analysis contractor team. Work was undertaken with the Department of Health’s appointments team to find Andrew’s replacement and also to appoint a senior specialist practitioner with an interest in orthopaedics. Mr Martyn Porter, NJR Vice Chair and Medical Director, and Sue Musson, patient representative member, were both granted extensions to their membership of the NJRSC until March 2018 and October 2017, respectively.

The co-opted position for the British Orthopaedic Association President was taken up by Mr Ian Winson on his election in September 2016. Professor Tim Briggs continued as a co-opted member of the NJRSC for the 2016/17 year in his capacity as National Director for Clinical Quality and Efficiency, NHS Improvement.

NJR must thank all of its members, past and present, for their considerable contribution to the registry. 

The membership of the NJR Steering Committee and membership of all sub-committees for 2016/17 can be found in online appendices. Further information can also be found in the Chairman’s introduction.